Location:
House 48 at Marienburg Manor


Marienburg Manor

Marienburg Manor is situated just outside of Hildesheim at the end of a green alley near the river Innerste. In the middle of the 14th century Bishop Henry III constructed it as a water castle which until nowadays has preserved the impressive donjon and the „House“. During the following centuries its changing owners reconstructed and enlarged it several times and in 1913 the Manor was finally leased to Carl Graf whose son installed an ice-cream factory there. In 1993 the Faculty of Cultural Sciencies of the University of Hildesheim moved into its rooms.

The stages of its history are apparent at Marienburg Manor even today: medieval walls meet barns and stables, half-timbered houses of the 16th century  come together with production and storage halls of the ice-cream factory. The ensemble of buildings is surrounded by meadows, pastures and a park which attracts visitors by its old trees and green spaces. In the yard there is a café called Hofcafé where students, teachers and guests meet for a cup of coffee, tea and homemade cakes.

 

House 48

The Department Space is located in House 48 of Marienburg Manor. The azure tiles and the vault of the basement of the three-storeyed half-timbered building are evidence of the production halls of the ice-cream factory. Three big seminar rooms offer sufficient space for discussion forums and practical work. In the media room accessible from a gallery there are PC work stations and the technical equipment of the Department. Tools and materials for the students are available in a workshop.

Especially during intensive project work a provisional kitchen enables the preparation of hot drinks and meals. Once per semester during the final exhibition „enter“ of the Department Space, House 48 - from the basement up to the airy roof – turns into an unusual exhibition place where art meets the turbulent past of Marienburg Manor.

Der Ort:
Das Haus 48 auf der Domäne Marienburg


Die Domäne Marienburg

Die Domäne Marienburg liegt etwas außerhalb von Hildesheim am Ende einer grünen Allee nahe der Innersten. Bischof Heinrich III. erbaute sie in der Mitte des 14. Jahrhunderts als Wasserburg, von der heute noch der mächtige Bergfried und das „Hohe Haus“ erhalten sind. Nachdem wechselnde Besitzer sie in den folgenden Jahrhunderten mehrmals umbauten und erweiterten, wurde die Anlage 1913 an Carl Graf verpachtet, dessen Sohn dort eine Fabrik für Speiseeis einrichtete. In die Räume der ehemaligen Eisfabrik zogen 1993 schließlich die kulturwissenschaftlichen Studiengänge der Universität Hildesheim ein.

Noch heute sind die Stationen ihrer Geschichte an der Domäne Marienburg deutlich sichtbar: Mittelalterliche Mauern treffen auf Scheunen und Ställe, Fachwerkbauten aus dem 16. Jahrhundert auf die Produktions- und Lagerhallen der Eisfabrik. Umgeben sind die Gebäude von Wiesen, Weiden und einem Park, der mit Grünflächen und alten Bäumen nach draußen lockt. Im Hofcafé treffen sich Studierende, Lehrende und Gäste zu Kaffee, Tee und hausgemachten Torten.

 

Das Haus 48

Das Fachgebiet Raum ist an der Domäne Marienburg im Haus 48 zuhause. Von den Produktionsräumen der alten Eisfabrik zeugen die himmelblauen Kacheln und das Kellergewölbe im Untergeschoß des dreistöckigen Fachwerkgebäudes. Drei große Seminarräume bieten Platz für Diskussionsrunden und praktisches Arbeiten. Im Medienraum, der über eine Empore zugänglich ist, sind die Rechnerarbeitsplätze und das technische Equipment des Fachgebiets untergebracht. Werkzeuge und Materialien stehen den Studierenden in einer kleinen Werkstatt zur Verfügung. Vor allem während intensiver Projektarbeiten dient eine provisorische Küche dazu heiße Getränke und Mahlzeiten zuzubereiten.

Einmal im Semester während der Abschlussausstellung „enter“ des Fachgebiets Raum verwandelt sich das Haus 48, vom Untergeschoß bis hoch in den luftigen Dachboden, in einen ungewöhnlichen Ausstellungsort, an dem Kunstwerke der wechselvollen Geschichte der Domäne Marienburg begegnen.