Department: Space

The department space headed by Prof. Biehler has been a field of study and research within the Institute of Fine Arts and Art Sciences at the University of Hildesheim since winter semester 2004/05.

From the perspective of cultural sciences research and teaching closely combine theory and practice to examine three-dimensional phenomena in Fine Arts.

The experimental and interdisciplinary analysis of spatial and situational questions aims at perceiving and exploring art as a form of expression and thought.
The department offers students of all semesters the opportunity to work in the artistic fields of sculpture, installation, performance and exhibition practices as well as to acquire technical skills, key and intermediation competences.

The range of courses comprises artistic strategies of constructing images and spaces by means of body, language, material, objects and architectonic or atmospheric interference. Moreover, it deepens the understanding of concepts of space and artistic work, as well as of process analysis, questions of documentation and presentation, mediation models, and enhances a differentiated use of language.

In thematic courses artistic practice is initiated and thoroughly supported to gradually enable independent learning. Students are familiarised with the history and theory of contemporary art and encouraged to embed their own artistic realisations in the ongoing discourse.

The results of scientific and artistic reflections lead to regular exhibitions, performances, festivals, art projects in public space or art editions. The cooperation opportunities with colleagues of the Music, Theatre and Media and Creative Writing Departments within the Faculty prove to be particularly fruitful.
Invitations of professionals in science, art and art mediation who offer workshops or present their work in their specific manner enrich the everyday campus life.

Interdisciplinarity and practice are substantial for the students future professional life in art, culture, science and education when aiming at an aesthetical approach that also coins their attitudes towards society.

Das Fachgebiet Raum

Das Fachgebiet Raum ist seit dem Wintersemester 2004/5 unter der Leitung von Prof. Biehler ein Studien- und Forschungsbereich am Institut für Bildende Kunst und Kunstwissenschaft an der Universität Hildesheim.

Aus kulturwissenschaftlicher Perspektive wird zu dreidimensionalen Phänomenen in der Bildenden Kunst in enger Verbindung von Theorie und Praxis gelehrt und geforscht.

Vorrangiges Studienziel in der experimentellen und spartenübergreifenden Untersuchung raum- und situationsbezogener Fragestellungen ist das Erfahren und Erforschen von Kunst als Ausdrucks- und Denkform. So bietet der Bereich den Studierenden aller Semester die Möglichkeit in den Feldern Bildhauerei, Installation, Performance und Ausstellungspraxis künstlerisch zu arbeiten, Fachwissen zu erwerben und sich Schlüsselqualifikationen und Vermittlungskompetenz anzueignen.

Das Spektrum der Angebote umfasst künstlerische Strategien der Konstruktion von Bildern und Räumen mittels des eigenen Körpers, Sprache, Materialien, Objekten und architektonischen oder atmosphärischen Eingriffen. Darüber hinaus geht es um Raum- und Werkbegriffe, Prozessanalysen, Dokumentations- und Inszenierungsfragen, Vermittlungsmodelle und die Einübung eines differenzierten Sprachgebrauchs.

Die künstlerische Praxis wird zunächst in thematischen Seminaren angeregt und sorgfältig begleitet und kann dann zunehmend eigenverantwortlich studiert werden. Die Geschichte und Theorie der zeitgenössischen Kunst werden gelehrt und die Studierenden angeleitet die eigenen künstlerischen Realisationen an die aktuellen Diskurse anzubinden.

Ergebnisse der wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Reflektionen münden regelmäßig in Ausstellungen, Performanceauftritte, Festivals, Kunstprojekte im öffentlichen Raum oder künstlerische Editionen. Die Kooperationsmöglichkeiten innerhalb des Fachbereichs mit KollegInnen aus der Musik, dem Theater und der Medien und dem Kreativen Schreiben erweisen sich hierbei als besonders fruchtbar.

Einladungen von Experten aus der Wissenschaft, der Kunst und der Kunstvermittlung, die Workshops anbieten oder in Werkpräsentationen in ihrer spezifischen Weise über ihre Arbeit sprechen, bereichern den Hochschulalltag vor Ort.

Interdisziplinarität und Praxisbezug sind maßgeblich für die angestrebte ästhetische Auseinandersetzung als Ausdruck einer ästhetischen Haltung im gesellschaftlichen Kontext mit Blick auf die späteren Berufsfelder in Kunst und Kultur, Wissenschaft und Bildung.